In Stock


The Jyotirlingas are the Hindu representation of the energy that has neither a beginning nor an end. Legend says that Lord Shiva once pierced the three worlds with a massive endless beam of light that literally translates as Jyotirlinga. All the 12 shrines have individual stories based on the same legend. Some of these Shiva temples are accompanied by a Shaktipeeth. Ramanathaswamy in Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu, was worshipped by Lord Rama. Trayebakeswar (Nashik) Bhimashankar near Pune and Ghrishneshwar (Ellora) are all in Maharashtra; Mahakaleshwar (Ujjain) and Omkareshwar are in Madhya Pradesh and Nageshvara and Somnath in Gujrat. Vaidyanath, Mallikārjuna Swāmi, Kashi Vishwanath and Kedarnath are in Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand respectively. Most of these temples have suffered massive destructions and reconstructions several times since antiquity. Yet they have emerged again and again, signifying their constructive strength. 

Back to Top